Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The Filters is a fractional math rock outfit hailing from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Officially formed in 2013, the band was co-founded by Ian Francis Khoo and Aiman Shakirin in the recesses of their high school music room – later to be joined by Reuben Ravi under the association of the school’s brass band. Followed by the completion of their line-up with the addition of Iain Chan after having attended the same college in Audio Engineering.

While the initial trio had begun the crafting and writing process of their original material by late 2013, The Filters has since undergone a rapid progression in expanding their ever-growing soundscape – their unique sound can be categorized under a multitude of genres due to their highly unconventional recording techniques and experimental nature with fusing multiple elements from various musical sources, in order to exhibit the plethora of intriguing, engaging and multi-layered textures present in their songs.

Known for their tenacious onstage presence and their aspirations to spread new thought-provoking music to our generation’s masses, they couldn’t be any less of a home grown local band with the tiniest of beginnings.


  • Fractional Math Rock


  • Independent, Tong Tong Asia (Distribution)


  • Aiman Shakirin – Drums
  • Ian Francis Khoo – Guitar & Vocals
  • Reuben Ravi – Bass
  • Iain Chan – Guitar


  • Audiotree Worldwide, NME Awards 2022 Nominated Best New Asian Act

Link to EPK





  • Email: ianfranciskhoo@gmail.com
  • Tel & Whatsapp: +60176392202